This is the "Home" page of the "Abnormal Psychology (PSY 215)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Abnormal Psychology (PSY 215)  

This guide includes many helpful resources for students currently enrolled in Abnormal Psychology. It also contain excellent information and resources for people who are simply looking to gain a deeper knowledge of various psychological disorders.
Last Updated: Dec 12, 2013 URL: http://libguides.sunysuffolk.edu/content.php?pid=543915 Print Guide
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Common Disorders

Types of Psychological Disorders
There are many different conditions
that are recognized as psychol
ogical health disorders. The
more common types include:

  • Mood Disorders
  • Sress related disorders
  • Anxiety Disorders
  • Eating Disoerders
  • Psychotic disorders
  • Impulse Control and Addiction Disorder
  • Personality Disorders

Psychology Databases

Journals Articles

  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    This is a comprehensive database providing nearly 550 full text publications, including more than 500 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, and mental processes.
  • PsycARTICLES
    PsycARTICLES covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 34,000 full text articles from 43 journals published by the American Psychological Association.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Premier is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals.
  • Science Direct
    Science Direct contains over four million articles and over 59 million abstracts from all fields of science. Some of the articles are full-text and available online, while others are not full-text and must be searched for in our print collection

 

      

    Psychology in the News

    Current Feed Content from Science Daily

     

    Using the new DSM5 online!

    Camtasia's guide to the new DSM

     

    Helpful links about Psychiatry and Psychology

    • American Psychological Association (www.apa.org) The American Psychological Association is the largest scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States. APA is the world's largest association of psychologists, with more than 134,000 researchers, educators, clinicians, consultants and students as its members.       
    • The Mental Help Net (Mentalhelp.net) This website exists to promote mental health and wellness
      education and advocacy. It is a provider of website services and educational content to behavioral health and
      employee assistance organizations.
    • National Institute on Drug Abuse (http://www.drugabuse.gov/) NIDA's mission is to lead the Nation in bringing the power of science to bear on drug abuse and addiction.
    • National Institute of Mental Health (http://www.nimh.nih.gov/ )The mission of NIMH is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery, and cure.
    • Psychcentral (http://psychcentral.com/) Dr. John Grohol's home of down-to-earth, reliable and objective mental health symptoms and treatment information.
    • Psych Web (http://www.psywww.com/ This Web site contains lots of scholarly psychology-related information for students and teachers of psychology. Browse through the subdivisions of the site on the left, or if you know the proper keywords for your topic, try a site-specific Google search within this website.
    • Psychology Online Resource Central   (http://psychcentral.com/) One of the top 5  mental health and psychology websites, provides reliable and prfessionally reviewed resources.
      Psych Scholar  (http://psych.hanover.edu/Krantz/) A collection of web resources for psychological scholars and budding psychological scholars from Hanover College in Indiana.
    •  SOSIG—Psychology( http://psych.hanover.edu/Krantz/) Provides access to psychology resources which have been evaluated and categorized using the APA PsychInfo coding scheme. The main focus of coverage is on areas of psychology relevant to the social sciences.

    Adjunct Librarian

    Profile Image
    Mary Kim
    Contact Info
    Suffolk County Community College
    Crooked Hill Road
    Brentwood, NY
    Send Email

    Debate about the DSM5

    Saving Normal: An Insider's Revolt Against Out-of-Control Psychiatric Diagnosis, DSM-5, Big Pharma, and the Medicalization of Ordinary Life Hardcover

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip