This is the "Finding Articles in Databases" page of the "PSY210 - Cummings" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PSY210 - Cummings  

This guide will lead you to helpful resources for your article review project and research paper.
Last Updated: May 29, 2014 URL: http://libguides.sunysuffolk.edu/cummings Print Guide

Finding Articles in Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Class Outline & Assignments

Databases

 

  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    This is a comprehensive database providing nearly 550 full text publications, including more than 500 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, and mental processes.
  • PsycARTICLES
    PsycARTICLES covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 34,000 full text articles from 43 journals published by the American Psychological Association.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Premier is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals.
  • Science Direct
    Science Direct contains over four million articles and over 59 million abstracts from all fields of science. Some of the articles are full-text and available online, while others are not full-text and must be searched for in our print collection.
  • DSM-5 Online
    This database provides access to the primary diagnostic tool for mental illness in the U.S. as well as several important journals in the field of psychiatry, including the American Journal of Psychiatry and FOCUS: The Journal of Lifelong Learning in Psychiatry.
 

How Do I Know if an Article is Peer Reviewed?

1.  Most databases offer users a way to limit their searches to "scholarly" and/or "peer reviewed" articles.  This is the easiest option to use if available.

2.  You can find the journal's website or look at the print copy of the journal.  The site and print edition will usually include information as to the nature of the publication including if it is peer reviewed or refereed.

3.  If it is difficult to find this information on the site, try to find the "Instructions for Authors" pages or links.  Articles are considered to be refereed (peer-reviewed) if authors are asked to submit multiple copies of the same article. The editor usually wants extra copies to send to reviewers.

4.  Check the journal to see if there is an editorial board. The members of this board usually serve as reviewers.

Librarian

Profile Image
Lisa Melendez
Contact Info
Huntington Library, Rm. 120
Suffolk County Community College
533 College Road
Selden, NY 11784

631-451-4171, -4181
melendl@sunysuffolk.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip