This is the "Researching & Writing" page of the "ENG101 Diaz" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENG101 Diaz  

Last Updated: Apr 18, 2014 URL: http://libguides.sunysuffolk.edu/diaz Print Guide

Researching & Writing Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Assignment: Argumentative Essay

Writing Argumentative Essays

  • Making the Argument
    This link explains what an argumentative essay is and offers general guidelines for writing such essays.
  • Developing a Strong Thesis Statement
    This link distinguishes between strong and weak statements with examples. You can also find additional tips for writing strong thesis statements here.

Library Databases - Finding Supporting Evidence

 

  • CQ Researcher
    Each week you'll find in-depth articles on social and political topics in the news. Use the "CiteNow!" link to get citations for your articles.
  • Opposing Viewpoints
    Use this database to find controversial topics with viewpoints from each side of the argument.
  • SIRS Knowledge Source
    Use this database to find articles on a wide variety of social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Use this general database to locate periodical articles on a wide variety of contemporary topics. Click on "Choose Databases" to include more specialized databases in your search.
  • Academic General Onefile
    Use this database to find articles on a wide variety of topics in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and more.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Use this database to find encyclopedia articles that will provide you with an overview of your topic.

Librarian

Profile Image
Lisa Melendez
Contact Info
Huntington Library, Rm. 120
Suffolk County Community College
533 College Road
Selden, NY 11784

631-451-4171, -4181
melendl@sunysuffolk.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip