This is the "Researching your topics" page of the "ENG101 Wilson-Carter" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENG101 Wilson-Carter  

Last Updated: Mar 30, 2016 URL: http://libguides.sunysuffolk.edu/eng101/wilson-carter Print Guide

Researching your topics Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Databases - Finding Supporting Material

Remember, library databases are how you can access the SCCC Library's subscriptions to online newspapers, magazines, journals, and eBooks. When off-campus, authenticate with your MYSCCC ID and password.


The databases listed below are specifically designed to make it easy to find information on both sides of controversial or current issues. Their topic or subject lists can also be helpful when coming up with an idea for a topic for your assignment.

When you use the following databases, look out for categories such as overview and chronology (good for informative presentations) OR viewpoints and pro/con (good for persuasive presentations). 

  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    Database provides viewpoint essays that argue different sides of an issue as well as links to statistical, primary and periodical sources.
  • SIRS Knowledge Source
    Viewpoints on a wide variety of current social issues, as well as overviews, statistics and links to articles in magazines, journals, and newspapers.
  • CQ Researcher
    In-depth reports that explore a current & "hot" issue each week. Also includes archived articles from 1923 to present
  • Databases by Subject
    Click here to connect to library databases arranged by subject.
 

Brainstorming Search Terms

 

Advanced Search Techniques

Learn some search techniques that you can use in any of the databases.
 

Search for Books Using the Library Catalog

 

How to Read Library of Congress Call Numbers

The Library of Congress system is utilized by SCCC Library to organize its collections including the Circulating Collection (Books that can be borrowed) and the Reference Collection (Books that can't leave the library).

Librarian

Profile Image
Jennifer Farquhar
Contact Info
Huntington Library, Rm. 119
Suffolk County Community College
533 College Rd.
Selden, NY 11784

(631) 451-4185
farquhj@sunysuffolk.edu
Send Email

Librarian

Profile Image
Fiona Grady
Contact Info
Suffolk County Community College
533 College Rd.
Selden, NY 11784
Send Email

Credible Online Encyclopedias

When you need a broad overview of a topic, background information, or help brainstorming search terms, and Wikipedia just won't do, try this collection of online encyclopedias from the SCCC Library.

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Encyclopedia articles that will provide you with an overview of your topic. Essays range from brief to lengthy and are particularly helpful for informative presentations.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip