This is the "Researching & Writing" page of the "IEP Koch: Debating a Popular Topic" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

IEP Koch: Debating a Popular Topic  

Last Updated: Apr 8, 2015 URL: http://libguides.sunysuffolk.edu/koch Print Guide

Researching & Writing Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Preparing Persuasive Speeches

In a persuasive speech, a speaker

  • Takes a position on an issue
  • Uses arguments to convince an audience
  • Understands the audience
  • Knows the various viewpoints on an issue
  • Presents information and facts in support of the argument
  • Anticipates objections to the argument.

 Remember, your persuasive point must be debatable.  You want to change people's minds and/or motivate them to act. Here's an outline to help you organize your ideas:

    Library Databases - Finding Supporting Material

    When you use the following databases, look out for categories such as overview and chronology (good for background information) OR viewpoints and pro/con (good for making arguments). 

    • Gale Virtual Reference Library
      Encyclopedia articles that will provide you with an overview of your topic. Essays range from brief to lengthy and are particularly helpful for informative presentations.
    • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
      Database provides viewpoint essays that argue different sides of an issue as well as links to statistical, primary and periodical sources.
    • CQ Researcher
      Informative, in-depth articles on popular topics that include overviews, a pro/con section, statistics, chronologies, and more. Useful for both informative and persuasive presentations.
    • SIRS Knowledge Source
      Viewpoints on a wide variety of current social issues, as well as overviews, statistics and links to articles in magazines, journals, and newspapers.
    • Newsday
      Full-text Newsday articles from 1985-to present.
    • Databases by Subject
      Click here to connect to library databases arranged by subject.

    Librarian

    Profile Image
    Lisa Melendez
    Contact Info
    Huntington Library, Rm. 120
    Suffolk County Community College
    533 College Road
    Selden, NY 11784

    631-451-4171, -4181
    melendl@sunysuffolk.edu
    Send Email

    Library Catalogs

    • SCCC Books & Media
      Search here to see what books and dvds our library owns, including materials located in the Long Island Collection, Room 110 of the Ammerman Campus Library.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip