This guide will lead you to resources for investigating a neighborhood issue or challenge.
Last Updated: Oct 19, 2016
Google Scholar — searches the Web for scholarly, academic information. Links to resources at SCCC.
Google Advanced — offers multiple search boxes for refining searches. Allows limiting to .edu or .gov which eliminates advertisements.
Full-text Newsday articles from 1985-to present.
- New York State Newspapers
Includes ten major newspapers published in the state of New York, including the New York Times and the New York Post. Most articles are full-text.
- Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary search for articles in magazines, journals, newspapers and more. Click on Choose Databases to add subject-specific databases to your search.
Links to numerous resources provided via the Suffolk County Public Library system. Includes historic newspapers, government and community resources, special reports and more.
- 2-1-1 Long Island
An online directory of community services and resources that includes information on more than 4,500 health, human service and education agencies and programs in the Suffolk County/Long Island area.
- Suffolk County Government Homepage
Follow this link to find local government information as well as links to many local agencies and a department directory.
- Our Community
Follow this link to learn more about Suffolk County demograpics, school districts, employment, transportation, public safety and individual town and village information. Maps included.
- Local Histories
Extensive links to New York State and Long Island local history collections provided by the Patchogue-Medford Library.
- Long Island Sound Study
The Long Island Sound Study (LISS) works with federal, state, and local partners to restore and protect Long Island Sound. Studies cover water quality, habitats, and more.
Huntington Library, Rm. 120
Suffolk County Community College
533 College Road
Selden, NY 11784